Copyright Matters - NEW Release for 2016!

Download your copy here!

What is copyright and why do students/teachers need to know about it?

More and more students and teachers are accessing web resources for their own learning and for presentations at school. Students in UGDSB will soon be realizing more access to Web 2.0 tools that can allow them to submit their work online for assessment from teachers, to be integrated into collaborative or individual school projects, and for their own personal use. Social Media implies a participatory culture, which means that we can all be designers, publishers and consumers of media.

Creators of media need to know how to license their own work, and how they are legally permitted to use, modify or distribute the work of others. Although the world of copyright is quite complex, teachers must begin by becoming informed about licensing and ways to access materials legally and then share that information with students. This needs to be integrated into all aspects of information gathering and content creation from K - 12 and beyond.

Here is a great blog post from Edublogs that describes the issues around copyright and online content.
Recently I took part in an OTF Webinar with my colleague Peter Skillen - scroll down to Creative Commons Feb. 7, 2012 to get the archived session.
As always there is great information at MediaSmarts.ca http://mediasmarts.ca/

What is Copyright?


From Creative Commons New Zealand:



Wanna Work Together?



Getting Creative



A great place to start for information is Creative Commons Canadacreative_commons.jpeg

http://creativecommons.ca/

It a lot of information to navigate so here are the most helpful places to go:

Description of the Creative Commons Licenses
http://creativecommons.org/about/licenses
Download the Creative Commons buttons, logos or icons.
http://creativecommons.org/about/downloads
Have CC help you determine the license.
http://creativecommons.org/choose/
CopyrightMatters.pdf- Council of Ministers of Education, Canada, 2005

Finding Content for Reuse

Images:

Copyright Free images for use in schools http://www.pics4learning.com/
DK Clip Art for use in schools - Dorling Kindersley http://www.dorlingkindersley-uk.co.uk/static/cs/uk/11/clipart/
Creative Commons www.creativecommons.org
DiscoverEd http://discovered.creativecommons.org/search/search.jsp?lang=en&query=photos
Open Educational Resources http://openeducation.zunia.org/
Flickr http://flickr.com
FlickrSTORM - Search with a bit of Magic http://www.zoo-m.com/flickr-storm/
Flickr Search http://compfight.com
How to Find Flicker Resources you can use http://www.jakesonline.org/flickr.htm
Time Magazine Photo Essays http://www.time.com/time/photoessays/
OSAPAC licensed software: The Canadian ClipArt Collection
CBC Digital Archives http://archives.cbc.ca/

Sounds:

Royalty Free Music with easy downloads - My favourite: http://www.purple-planet.com
http://www.freesound.org
http://www.partnersinrhyme.com/
http://www.soundsnap.com (not free)
Royalty Free Music http://incompetech.com/m/c/royalty-free/
Flash Kit-Sound FX http://flashkit.com/soundfx/
Bumper Music http://bumpermusic.blogspot.com/
Four Bees Free Music http://www.fourbees.com/fourbees/audelm.asp
Check out Jamendo on http://www.creativecommons.ca

Google Advanced Search



Check out this movie and find out how to search Google Images for images that are already licensed for reuse and modification.